Contact Us:

5 Changes in SSC CGL Exam Pattern

5 Changes in the Exam Pattern of SSC CGL Exam

Hey to all the examinees of SSC CGL! Those who are giving the exam this 10th to 24th August might have already seen the changes the in this Tier I. Here, in this post team has come together to help you in preparation and set a strategy for your dream exam by keeping you aware of the changes in the exam pattern, especially of Tier II and Tier III as Tier I exam is almost over.

Let’s see if those changes made in Tier I exam by the commission are for Tier II and Tier III as well or not.

Changes in SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2017 – 2018:

  • As per the recent changes, SSC will conduct Tier I and Tier II exam online.
  • The examinees of Tier I must have noticed the reduction of the time limit for the exam from 75 to 60 minutes.
  • The time limit for SSC CGL Tier II will remain same.
  • In the new pattern of the exam a descriptive paper of 100 marks has been introduced which has to be completed within 60 minutes in pen and paper mode in both Tier I and II exam.
  • Just like Tier I, no sectional cut off marks have been introduced in Tier II as well

The SSC CGL exam will now be conducted in four tiers as indicated below:

  • Tier -I — Online Examination, MCQ
  • Tier -II — Online Examination, MCQ
  • Tier -III –Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Essay/Precis/Letter /Application Writing)
  • Tier -IV — Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever needed)/ Document Verification

Now let us check out the exam pattern one by one starting from Tier I as this information will help the examinees of SSC CGL 2018 – 2019 exam as well.

SSC CGL Tier I Exam Pattern

You must be aware of the fact that, SSC CGL Tier I is compulsory for all the posts and its marks are added for the further procedure as well. If candidates do not score the cut-off of Tier I Exam then they will not be qualified for Tier II. The table below shows the section wise breakup of questions and marks asked in SSC CGL Tier I exam.

SubjectsQuestionsMaximum MarksTotal Duration
General Intelligence & Reasoning255060 minutes
Quantitative Aptitude255060 minutes
General English255060 minutes
General Awareness255060 minutes

SSC CGL Tier II Exam Pattern

In Tier II exam, two papers are conducted on the same day. The first one is Quantitative Aptitude and the other is English.

SubjectsQuestionsMaximum MarksTotal Duration
Quantitative Aptitude1002002 hrs
General English1002002 hrs

SSC CGL Tier III Exam Pattern 2017

SubjectsMaximum MarksTotal Duration
Descriptive Paper in English /Hindi1 Hour

SSC CGL 2017 Tier IV Exam Pattern

SubjectsSyllabusTotal Duration
Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) for post of Assistant Section Officer in CSS & MEA onlyWord/Excel/ Power Point45 mints

A crucial tip for SSC CGL Exam

General awareness is not a bit that examinees can expect to grasp in little time but from an exam angle, if you spend time steadily, you can do well in quite less time as compared to Quantitative Aptitude. This section is extremely crucial as this is the only part which can be finished fast i.e. in 12-15 minutes and at the same time, good marks can be attained in this part if prepared well. General Awareness paper helps an examinee in getting a good rank in SSC CGL. Below are the links to of coaching institutes which awill help you in the preparation for Tier II, III and IV. Go through them.

List of Best SSC CGL Coaching Institutes in Chandigarh – Click Here
List of Best SSC CGL Coaching Institutes in Mohali – Click Here
List of Best SSC CGL Coaching Institutes in Panchkula – Click Here
List of Best SSC CGL Coaching Institutes in Delhi – Click Here
List of Best SSC CGL Coaching Institutes in Jaipur – Click Here

Previous Topic- Every Thing you should know about SSC CGL Exam

Comments are closed.